September Wrap Up

dsc_0762

September seemed to fly on by, but still managed to be a relatively good reading month for me. I read five books, and would rate them all either 4 or 5 stars. Admittedly, I may have been able to read more, if a) Empire of Storms hadn’t demolished me near the beginning of the month, and b) my excitement for Crooked Kingdom hadn’t distracted me at the end of the month. But I digress! Quality over quantity, right?

  1. Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5) by Sarah J. Maas: ★★★★
    I had a few issues with this book, but I still found the character and story development to be well worth the read. And the ending, while similar to ACOMAF, was a total cliffhanger and makes me excited for the next book!
  2. Illuminae by Amy Kaufman and Jay Kristof: ★★★★
    This was an unexpectedly thrilling read for me. I was putting it off for a while because the format was intimidating, but once I started I couldn’t put it down. It had science fiction, romance, horror… A little bit of something for everyone!
  3. Dracula by Bram Stoker: ★★★★
    One of my new favorite classics by far! It was deliciously creepy. However, because it was written in 1897, there were some outdated ideas and language that irked me a bit.
  4. Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Boys #3 by Maggie Stiefvater: ★★★★★
    Ever since the first book in this series, I have been in love with Blue and the boys, as well as Maggie Stiefvater’s whimsical writing style. The plot certainly thickens in this third installment, and I honestly wish the next book wasn’t the end *sobs*
  5. Orange (The Complete Collection #1) by Ichigo Takano: ★★★★
    This is the first manga I’ve read in a long time, and it blew me away! It discusses important ideas about mental illness and depression, so needless to say it was an emotional read.

If you’d like to read more about what I thought of Empire of Storms, Illuminae and/or Dracula, check out my book reviews! What did you read this month?

Leave a Reply

