Book Tag: Pokémon Go

Once again, I was not personally tagged for this, but I saw it over at MyLittleBookBlog and couldn’t NOT do it. I mean, books AND Pokémon? Heaven really is a place on earth. Unfortunately, I’m not a huge Pokémon Go fan, because it just isn’t as fun as the Gameboy games. Amirite? Guys? Bueller?

ANYWAY. I did make it to level 15, obtained all of the Eeveelutions, and joined Team Valor before I lost interest (I’m a Gryffindor, so red seemed like the best option). I still pick it up now and then, but with Pokémon Sun and Moon coming out next month for Gameboy, I will probably stop playing Pokémon Go altogether.

Wait. Am I still rambling? Let’s get to the tag:

pokemon-tag-01starters

In Pokémon terms, if you don’t pick Squirtle as a starter, you’re wrong. Just kidding. Charmander is good if you have the patience to raise it into a Charizard. You’re only wrong if you pick Bulbasaur. I have all three in Pokémon Go, including a Wartortle I randomly found in a parking lot that was nowhere near water. At night. Was I in the Upside Down? 

I don’t remember very many specific books, but when I was younger I was really into stuff by Beverly Cleary, Judy Blume, Paula Danziger, etc. I totes identified with Amber Brown. I also liked The Secret Garden and A Little Princess, although I remember the latter being pretty depressing. Is that accurate? I may be due for a re-read.

pokemon-tag02pikachu

My favorite Gameboy game version back in the day was Yellow, just because Pikachu would follow you around and give you attitude. I have a couple of Pikachus in Pokémon Go, but not nearly enough to evolve a Raichu. *sobs* 

I read Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë this year and fell in love. I own three different copies of it now. I don’t think that love will ever go away. I also read The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath at a trying time in my life, so it holds a special place in my heart as well.

pokemon-tag-03-zubat

Zubat is not as much of a pain in the ass in Pokémon Go as it is in the Gameboy games. Probably because I’m never in caves IRL. But don’t even get me started on Rattata.

Ok, so Twilight isn’t really everywhere anymore, but I never read it because of the hype that surrounded it back in the day. I recently got all of the books in the series for like $5, and planned on reading them out of a sense of YA literary duty, but still haven’t. Whoops.

pokemon-tag-04-ditto

Whoa, I forgot Ditto even existed. It’s pretty elusive in Pokémon Go. But when you were able to start breeding Pokémon in the Gameboy games (which is pretty weird now that I think about it), I was on the hunt for Ditto constantly!

I won’t get spoilery here, but Sarah J. Maas’ Throne of Glass series is verrrrry similar to her A Court of Thorns and Roses series. To the point where the ending of Empire of Storms (ToG #5) wasn’t very emotional for me, because it reminded me too much of the ending to A Court of Mist and Fury (ACOTAR #2). I enjoy both, however, and plan to read until the very ends.

pokemon-tag-05-snorlax

Ahaha, Snorlax, you big oaf. Basically just a roadblock in the Gameboy games, but a point of envy in Pokémon Go. Seriously, I caught one while I was in a car full of people (my family, no less) and when no one else got it they started telling me to get out and walk. *laughs but cries inside*

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff would have been a perfect answer to this, but I literally just read it last month after a ton of time putting it off. I was intimidated because it looked behemoth, but its non-traditional format actually made for a quick read. And I technically have started Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy, but haven’t finished it because it’s soooo loooong.

pokemon-tag06-gengar

Ghost Pokémon were so creepy in the Gameboy games! Remember Lavender Town’s Pokémon Tower, which was basically just an inside cemetery full of dead Pokémon spirits? And that town’s music?? *shudders* Also, the ghost Pokémon in the TV show were just pranky jerks. I’m good without a Gengar (though I do have Ghastly and Haunter, so you never know).

Does this have to be a scary book? Because I don’t really get scared by books (or movies, for that matter). Which is why I read/watch tons of thrillers/horrors/crime dramas. But if we’re talking any books that made me lose sleep, I would say ACOMAF and Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2) by Leigh Bardugo fit the bill. After a certain point, I just couldn’t put those suckers down, even when midnight came and went.

pokemon-tag07-nidokingqueen

These two were always so weird to me. Like, they were the only original Pokémon that were completely different depending on their gender. I still don’t really know how I feel about that, because why?? Needless to say, I have neither.

OMG YES THANK YOU. I never tire of the chance to bring up Wylan and Jesper from Six of Crows, aka WySper (I don’t know if I coined this, but I use it all the time). I love them more than ANYTHING.

pokemon-tag08-rapidash

I don’t even like horses that much, but I dig Rapidash and its pre-evolution, Ponyta. THEY ARE LITERALLY ON FIRE. I still don’t quite understand how Ash managed to ride one on the TV show, but I digress. I only have one Ponyta in Pokémon Go, so Rapidash does not seem to be in my near future.

I thought Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn was a pretty fast-paced, thrilling read! It was suuuuper messed up, in a good way. Well, for me. Not so much for the characters.

pokemon-tag09-eevee

Eeeeek! Eevee is my most favoritest Pokémon ever! I beat one of the newer Gameboy game versions with a team totally comprising Eevee evolutions, and it was magical. I’ve even considered naming my hypothetical future daughter Eevee (spelling under consideration).

Unfortunately, I’m not really aware of any book series with spinoffs, aside from Harry Potter. But I suppose we’ll never get tired of JK Rowling’s witchcraft and wizardry.

pokemon-tag14-magikarp

 

Magikarp are annoying, now and forever. How are people even getting 400 candies in order to evolve them in Pokémon Go?? I don’t feel like Gyarados is worth it, tbh.

I’d have to say The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater! The first book started out so… average? And I didn’t think I’d be that impressed with it or the rest of the books. BUT THEY ARE MAJESTIC. A top favorite now, for sure. And Gansey is my precious cinnamon roll.

pokemon-tag12-legendary

 

Wait. These are available in Pokémon Go?? I NEED THEM. 

The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare seem to be overhyped, but I still want to read at least one of the books to find out why.

pokemon-tag15mew-mewtwo

Ok, there’s no way these two are available in Pokémon Go. At least not Mew. That mofo was barely available in the Gameboy games!

I saw an edition of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland that got me all grabby hands in a local bookshop, but I didn’t think dropping $50 on it was a smart financial move at the time.

pokemon-tag10-egg

Ugh, I haven’t gotten ANYTHING cool out of an egg. I don’t even know what you’re supposed to be able to get, but so far I’m unimpressed.

Err, I’m the type of person who doesn’t find out about a thing until it already exists. But I heard one of my favorite authors/essayists, Megan Stielstra, is writing another book of essays. So that’s exciting. I just have no idea when it’s supposed to be published.

pokemon-tag11-lure-module

I’ve never personally used one of these, but I’ve crashed a few lure parties. (I don’t think I’ve ever said something so nerdy before.)

Sarah J. Maas and Stephen King!

pokemon-tag13-server-down

Hahahaha, I’m so happy this was included. BECAUSE IT WAS THE WORST THING EVER. My initial excitement was quickly replaced by frustration. So honestly I’m not surprised I eventually gave up playing. It was dooooomed.

Like I said, I don’t tend to know about things until way late. So there isn’t anything I’ve been waiting on forever, but I am anxiously awaiting ACOTAR #3 now, and will be until next year. I’ve also been awaiting Gemina (Illuminae Files #2), which thankfully comes out in a few days.

Ok, that wraps it up! This tag took entirely longer than I thought it would (The Incredibles played on my TV twice), but it was so fun. If you’re reading this and want to give it a try, consider yourself tagged! And feel free to link back to me and let me know about it, so I can check your choices out. Also, special thanks to the original creator of this tag for the awesome imagery. PokéNerds, unite!

 

2 thoughts on “Book Tag: Pokémon Go

Leave a Reply

