October Wrap Up

dsc_0894I don’t know how it’s possible, but October went by even faster than September! Seriously, how is it November already?? I feel like we just got settled into Halloween vibes, and then POOF. Over. And now I have to start thinking about Christmas presents. My wallet isn’t ready!

October flew by so fast that I only managed to read four books. BUT, three of them were amazing, and two have become part of my list of favorite YA books.

  1. Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2) by Leigh Bardugo: ★★★★★
    I loved this book even more than Six of Crows! The character development, especially regarding Wylan, was outstanding. And Kaz was even more cunning. Yes, the ending was a bit sad because of The Thing, but I feel like that made it more realistic. For more of my thoughts, you can read my review!
  2. This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab: ★★★★
    This was a perfect October read, because it was thrilling and full of monsters. I really liked the ideas that surrounded how monsters are made, and what it means to truly be a monster. I can’t wait to see more of August, my book child, in the sequel. You can read my review of This Savage Song for even more of my opinions and August fangirling!
  3. Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2) by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff: ★★★★★
    I would give Gemina all the stars, if possible. This was an emotional rollercoaster, especially the ending, which was even crazier than Illuminae’s. And the authors used space and science fiction themes that were freaking awesome. I wrote a review where I talk even more about the characters and the plot (without spoilers, of course).
  4. The Trap by Melanie Raabe: ★★★
    I was really looking forward to this thriller as my true October wrap-up; I read it over the Halloween weekend, but I wasn’t really that impressed. I liked the idea of a character who experienced a trauma and developed agoraphobia, because that’s not really presented in a lot of books, but everything was kind of anti-climactic. And there was a ton of repetition, which I assume was done purposefully, but I still don’t really understand why.

How did you fare this October? What was your favorite read?

Leave a Reply

