T10T: My Top 10 Favorite TV Shows (Right Now)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

Happy Tuesday! I know the prompt today mentioned movies, but I am much more into television. I think for the same reason I like book series more than standalones, TV shows offer me plots and characters I can watch evolve for longer than two hours (especially if the show is binge-able on Netflix!).

So, here are my top 10 favorite shows currently on television, in no particular order:

  1. Lucifer (Fox)lucifer_s2_1536x2048
    Starring the VERY sexy Tom Ellis, Lucifer is based on the comic book about the original fallen angel, Lucifer, who became dissatisfied with his job in hell and retires in Los Angeles. He befriends detective Chloe Decker and helps her solve crimes, while simultaneously running a club and having identity crises. Neil Gaiman was a co-creator of the characters, so needless to say I love this show. (Chloe reads her daughter Coraline as a bedtime story—my favorite book!)
  2. Superstore (NBC)
    If you liked The Office, you are almost guaranteed to like Superstore. It has such dumb comedy, but cracks me up every episode. The show follows the employees of Cloud ssNine Superstore (think Costco in real life) and their day-to-day shenanigans. America Ferrera is refreshingly both funny and brilliant as floor manager Amy, and Ben Feldman as new employee Jonah is irritatingly adorable.
  3. Secrets and Lies (ABC)
    Starring Michael Ealy, this show is a classic whodunit after Eric Warner’s wife, Kate, is pushed off of his father’s company’s roof during a party. My best friend watches every week with me and already has her official suspects picked out. But everyone on the show is seriously sketchy, I’m having trouble deciding!
  4. The Flash (CW)the-flash
    I watch every single live-action superhero show out there, but the only one that really gets me excited every week is The Flash. It has a good mix of both humor and darkness; does really well with crossovers; and the plot hasn’t run stale for me yet. Plus, I’m really holding out for the return of Captain Cold (Wentworth Miller), because a girl can dream!
  5. Brooklyn Nine-Nine (Fox)
    I may be biased here, because I am in love with Andy Samberg, but this show is hilarious. It has the same kind of comedy as Superstore, but follows the daily lives of Brooklyn cops instead. Detective Jake Peralta (Samberg) is constantly getting himself and everyone into trouble, but we all still love him for it. Never grow up!
  6. Supernatural (CW)spn
    Crazily enough, I am still going strong with Supernatural, even though 12 seasons does seem like a ridiculous amount of run time. There is just no way I could give up on my favorite brothers and their angel bestie, especially when Lucifer got thrown back into the mix. (I don’t actually have to tell you what this show is about, right? I can safely assume 12 seasons means everyone knows at least the basics?)
  7. Once Upon a Time (ABC)
    Fairy tales come to life! In Maine! And Captain Hook is a hottie! Need I say more? I actually really enjoy the twists and turns the fairy tales take in this show, because our favorite characters end up meeting in ways I never would have thought possible. The one disappointment for me is Aurora, aka Sleeping Beauty. She’s my favorite Disney princess, so I was hoping they’d give her a cool role on the show and a little more girl power. No such luck.
  8. Bob’s Burgers (Fox)bb
    The Belchers are my favorite animated family ever. Bob and Linda, along with their kids Tina, Gene, and Louise, run a burger restaurant that is constantly on the verge of going out of business. Even though the burgers are good, they are all so weird and can’t seem to stay out of trouble financially, which speaks to me in real life. And the oldest daughter, Tina, is my spirit animal.
  9. Blindspot (NBC)
    A woman wakes up naked in Times Square, covered in tattoos, with no memory of who she is or how she got there. Honestly, they had me at the tattoos. It reminded me of the movie Momento, but more badass.
  10. Crazy Ex-Girlfriend (CW)ceg
    I’m not usually a fan of shows where the actors break into song and dance randomly throughout each episode, but dangit this show has me hooked. Rachel Bloom as the obsessive and uninhibited Rebecca Bunch is both depressing and laugh-out-loud funny, which is somehow an addictive combination. And I can’t get enough of Greg’s musical numbers. “But I could if I wanted to!”

To keep things simple, I decided to stick to shows that weren’t originals on streaming services like Netflix or Hulu, but I intend to post about those shows eventually as well. Do you watch any of the ones on my list? Any recommendations?

 

Leave a Reply

