November Wrap Up

November was a less-than-stellar reading month for me. I honestly blame Pokémon Sun and Moon; I bought Sun the day the games were released, and played it during pretty much all of my spare time. Plus, I went home for the Thanksgiving holiday, and tried to spend time with my family as well.

But, excuses aside, I did read two books, and found a new favorite fantasy. So that’s enough to celebrate, right?

  • Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter: ★★★★★28220892
    This was by far the weirdest book I’ve ever read. It was funny, charming, horrifying, and touching, all at the same time. Vassa is now one of my favorite heroines! And don’t even get me started on Erg. Even now, there are parts of the story that I find myself recalling quite vividly in my mind, and I am just left in awe of the author’s imagination. I never re-read books, but I think I may have to with this one!


  • Razor Girl by Carl Hiaasen: ★★★★51s3vaiuntl-_sy344_bo1204203200_
    Carl Hiaasen is a go-to author for me, because his writing is fun and his characters are always quirky. I actually didn’t even read what Razor Girl was about before I bought it. Serendipitously, it was the sequel to Bad Monkey, which was the last Hiaasen book I had read beforehand. Some of the themes in the book I wasn’t completely in love with, but I’m hoping it was Hiaasen’s commentary of where society is at right now, since several of the characters were obviously inspired by certain TV celebrities. I did like this book more than Bad Monkey, though, and it only increased my infatuation with Andrew Yancey, aka my hunka hunka burning Florida love.

The next book I’m hoping to finish is Heartless by Marissa Meyer, which I have already started. I’m also more than halfway through the audiobook of American Gods by Neil Gaiman. So I wasn’t a TOTAL slacker this month, just a partial one.

What was your favorite read in November? What books are on your December TBR?

2 thoughts on “November Wrap Up

  1. I cried a bit a the end of Vassa. I was: This can’t be, this so profound, I never imagined it, someone comes and save the situation 😄

    Like

Leave a Reply

