T10T: Authors I Read for the First Time in 2016

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

Happy Tuesday! This T10T prompt is such a good one, because I feel like 2016 has been a great year for me in regards to reading new-to-me authors. After being in college and graduate school for several years, I hadn’t been reading for leisure in a long time. Since 2016 marked my first year out of school, I’ve gotten back into reading and have met so many wonderful authors (both figuratively and literally)! Joining Bookstagram also helped me immensely in finding new books and authors to read.

So, in no particular order, here is my list of top 10 authors I read for the first time in 2016:

  1. Marissa Meyercinder-book-cover
    I read Cinder early in the year, and immediately fell in love with Marissa’s writing and The Lunar Chronicles series. Now I’m reading Heartless, and enjoying it immensely!


  2. Leigh Bardugosixofcrows
    Admittedly, I read Leigh’s books backwards: first Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom, and now I’m trying to get to the Grisha series. But I freakin’ love the SoC duology.


  3. Maggie Stiefvatercover_ravenboys_300
    It took me waaaaay too long to get to The Raven Boys this year, but now that I’m two-thirds of the way into the series, I WANT ALL OF MAGGIE’S BOOKS. Her writing is so magical.


  4. JK Rowlingharry_potter_and_the_sorcerers_stone
    While I knew who JK Rowling was, and had seen the Harry Potter films, I didn’t actually read the series until this year! *hangs head in shame* I also have yet to read any other books by JKR. Any recommendations?


  5. Sarah J. Maastog-nyt-cover
    I pretty much devoured the Throne of Glass series this year, and then moved on to A Court of Thorns and Roses. I like the latter series better, but Sarah still manages to ruin my life with each book she writes! *laughs but is actually crying*


  6. Victoria Schwabthis_savage_song_cover
    I am automatically a fan of an author who can make me feel so protective and loving toward a character within the first few minutes of meeting them. And this is exactly what happened to me when I read This Savage Song. I would go down fighting for August Flynn!


  7. Amie Kaufman51vpagsvayl-_sy344_bo1204203200_
    Before I read Illuminae this year, I didn’t think I knew who Amie Kaufman was. But a fellow booknerd educated me about her other books, and I realized I had seen her around before. So now that I’m caught up with The Illuminae Files, I hope to read more from Amie!
  8. Jay Kristoff
    Ditto for Jay, who co-wrote The Illuminae Files with Amie. I actually have his book Nevernight on my TBR right now.


  9. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichieamericanah
    My first book of 2016 was Americanah, and it was a brilliant kickoff to the year. I wasn’t used to reading something that was from an entirely different culture than my own, but I’m glad I did. I then read her book We Should All Be Feminists (which is actually a condensed version of her TedTalk), and Chimamanda is now not only one of my favorite authors, but one of my favorite humans!


  10. Sarah Porter28220892
    Thanks to OwlCrate, I read Sarah’s book Vassa in the Night this year, and it was so bizarre and imaginative that I would like to read more from her soon!


Now that you’ve read this list, you’re probably like, “Dang, Megan, you are so late getting to these popular authors.” And you’re not wrong! I basically used to just read thrillers and mysteries from the sale section at Barnes and Noble, with the occasional contemporary and manga thrown in. But I’ve expanded my horizons, and will hopefully stumble upon even more great authors in 2017.

Who are some great new-to-you authors from this year?

2 thoughts on “T10T: Authors I Read for the First Time in 2016

  1. We’re basically the same XD Just like you I only discover most of the authors during this year. But ?im kinda of excused, since in Italy a lot of this books still have to be published or they will never be.. actually.
    So, when I started to read in enghlish I was totally overwhelmed by all the authors in the world.

    Like

Leave a Reply

