The Burn, Rewrite, Reread Book Tag

As a fairly new book blogger, I’ve been moseying around the internet to see what kind of posts fellow bloggers are writing and publishing. That’s when I discovered Book Tag Thursday.

I’m a huge fan of Top Ten Tuesday, so I knew I wanted to join in on another weekly blogging festivity! This time, however, I’m not going to post something relating to any predetermined theme or idea, like I do with T10T. This is mostly because I’ve seen various Book Tag Thursday “creators,” and I don’t actually know who created it originally. (If you do, let me know!) But I would also like to have the freedom to choose a tag each week, because that sounds like fun!

This week, I’ve decided to do the Burn, Rewrite, Reread tag, which is probably going to be super difficult and agonizing and as I type this I’m starting to wonder why I picked this one to be first. But, oh well, moving on!

The Rules

  • Randomly choose three books (Tip: Use the “Sort > Random” option on your Goodreads’ shelf).
  • Out of the three, decide which book to burn, rewrite, and reread (a lot like Kiss, Marry, Kill).
  • Repeat until you’ve completed three rounds (or six).

Round 1

the-mysterious-mr-quin518fgo8wyl-_sx312_bo1204203200_11588

Burn: The Mysterious Mr. Quin by Agatha Christie. Don’t get me wrong—I liked this book of short stories. A lot! But I don’t think it was Christie’s best work, and you can probably find Mr. Quin stories in other books. Right? So it’s not like he would be burned out of existence. Right??

Rewrite: The Grownup by Gillian Flynn. As of right now, this is my favorite short story. But DUDE. It could be rewritten as a novel. I can’t imagine how great it would be to have more fleshed out characters. Oh wait, yes I can!

Reread: The Shining by Stephen King. This is my favorite King novel, and I would totally reread it and then the sequel, Doctor Sleep, right after. There were so many years in between the two, I actually should have reread it!

Round 2

20613470the-haunting-of-hill-house22299763

Burn: Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas. Ok, so this hurts my heart a little, because HoF is my favorite book out of the series. But it’s called Heir of FIRE, so burning it would be like… symbolism or some shit.

Rewrite: The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson. While this remains a horror classic, I think rewriting it with a bit more modernity and less weird meandering in the beginning would do it a favor.

Reread: Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo. I was THIS close to putting CK in rewrite, so I could leave out The Thing that happens and allow my Dregs to live happily ever after. But let’s face it—this is not that kind of book.

Round 3

endofwatch-stephenking23453112the-two-towers

Burn: End of Watch by Stephen King. I wasn’t the biggest fan of this book, or of the whole Bill Hodges trilogy. I enjoyed Mr. Mercedes, the first book, but then it all kind of went downhill from there.

Rewrite: Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari. I actually DID want to write a book like this, and my grad school roommate can back me up on that! But mine was going to be more anecdotal, less research-y.

Reread: The Two Towers by JRR Tolkien. While I still think Tolkien could benefit from some brevity, I would read this one over the rest in The Lord of the Rings series.

Round 4

ready-player-one-book-coverharry_potter_and_the_sorcerers_stonecoraline

Burn: Ready Player One by Earnest Cline. I have nothing against this book; I listened to it on audio and it was entertaining. But it also wasn’t life-changing.

Rewrite: Bear with me, people—I would rewrite Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. BUT, only to eliminate all the fat shaming surrounding Dudley. JKR sets him up to be a constant fat joke, and I wasn’t a fan of that.

Reread: Coraline by Neil Gaiman. One of my top favorite books in the whole universe! So of course I would reread this any time.

Round 5

9781501112317_custom-b94a64187bf3180e71db57fd0feedeb786ff5a89-s300-c8541cagulbwql-_sx330_bo1204203200_dracula-cover

Burn: In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware. I didn’t dislike this book, but it definitely wasn’t as thrilling or scary as I was hoping it would be.

Rewrite: The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes. The concept for this book was totally awesome: A serial killer with access to time travel? A Chicago Sun-Times journalist teaming up with a survivor in order to catch the killer? I was sold! But, sadly, it didn’t quite meet my expectations.

Reread: Dracula by Bram Stoker. One of my favorite classics, hands down!

Round 6

harry_potter_and_the_cursed_child_special_rehearsal_edition_book_coverthe_martian_2014bookthief

Burn: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. I’m sorry! But this was ultimately a disappointing book/screenplay. Ron was just one giant dad joke. And Bellatrix + Voldemort? *barfs in mouth a little*

Rewrite: I loved The Martian by Andy Weir; it had a great mix of humor and drama. But I found myself skimming a lot of the tech-heavy parts of the book. Maybe a rewritten one that’s dumbed down for dummies like me would be better? Or would that just be the movie?

Reread: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I was so unprepared for this story, especially as told to me by Death. It was deep, y’all, and worth a reread for sure!

Ok, that’s all six rounds! I was originally only going to do three, but it got more fun and less agonizing as I went on. And did anyone notice that my books started color coordinating toward the end? Weirdos. (The books, not you.) (Unless you want to be weird.) (Because who am I kidding, I’m a total weirdo.) (Ok, I’m done with the parentheses now.)

As I am still trying to find and follow more book bloggers, and I know this is a relatively old tag, please consider yourself tagged if you are reading this and want to participate!

 

 

Leave a Reply

