Unboxing: December OwlCrate

This month’s OwlCrate theme was Epic, with items inspired by fantasy books like Harry Potter, Game of Thrones and The Lord of the Rings, so I was super excited to get it! In the end, it wasn’t quite as epic as I was hoping for, but I’m still glad I bought it. OwlCrate always introduces me to books I would probably never buy or even know about otherwise!

dsc_1248

This month’s book, Of Fire and Stars, is an LGBTQ romance about magic and royalty. It has mixed reviews on Goodreads, but I’m looking forward to reading a book about a princess who doesn’t automatically fall in love with the prince. We also got a letter from the author, Audrey Coulthurst.

dsc_1243

Perhaps my favorite item from the December box is this Lord of the Rings-inspired book pin from Jane Mount. I think it’s adorable, which Sauron probably wouldn’t appreciate, since his “eye” graces the cover. Now I just have to figure out what to pin it to!

dsc_1244

Next, we have this sticker designed by Miss Phi, which includes a quote from A Darker Shade of Magic by Victoria Schwab. I haven’t read ADSOM yet, but it’s pretty high up on my TBR and I can’t wait to “get” the reference to this quote once I do.

dsc_1245

I have mixed feelings about this Chronicles of Narnia-inspired card. I think it’s gorgeous, which isn’t surprising because it’s from the talented Susanne Draws. But I wish it was a small print or something instead, because a card is kind of underwhelming.

dsc_1246

I’m a big fan of Funko, so I was happy to discover this Harry Potter mystery mini in the December box. While I wish I had gotten a different character, because I already have a couple of full-sized Harry Funko Pops, I can’t deny mini Harry’s cuteness. His glasses are bigger than his face! *pinches his little cheek*

dsc_1247

My other favorite item in this month’s box is this set of Game of Thrones house crest coasters. They will be so perfect sitting on the table next to my reading chair!

Aside from the usual OwlCrate pin and miscellaneous bookmark advertisement, that wraps the December box up! Maybe calling it Epic raised my expectations a little high, because I wasn’t completely enamored with this box. But I’m hoping once I read Of Fire and Stars and A Darker Shade of Magic, and figure out what to do with the Narnia card, I’ll grow more attached to it.

Leave a Reply

