T10T: The Best Books I Read in 2016

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

Happy Tuesday! I can’t believe that Christmas is over, and that we will be in 2017 soon. I honestly think this year has been my best reading year in pretty much… ever. But since I read I read Harry Potter and several other YA series for the first time, that’s not really a big surprise, huh?

That being said, it was tough to narrow down my list of 56 books to the best 10, but here’s what I decided on:

  1. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas 17927395
    While this list isn’t in a particular order, ACOMAF always pops into my head first, because it literally always pops into my head. Even when I’m not thinking about books! ACOMAF gave me the worst book hangover ever, and I love it.


  2. Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles) by Marissa Meyer9780312642969_fc
    I loved the whole Lunar Chronicles series, but I think Scarlet is my favorite out of the four books. Plus, Scarlet (the character) inspired my newest tattoo, soooo….


  3. Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter28220892
    This is the strangest, quirkiest, coolest, most horrifying book. Just trying to describe it to my boyfriend felt like I dreamed the whole thing up. And that’s why I love it! I’ve never read anything like it.


  4. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by JK Rowlingharry-potter-and-the-order-of-the-phoenix-cover-image
    This should probably just say, Harry Potter #1-7, but since I didn’t want to cheat the list, I decided to put OotP because it’s my favorite out of the series. (Even though the ending made me SO SAD and just thinking about it MAKES ME SAD AGAIN.)


  5. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë 5-36
    This is my favorite classic by far. Not that I’ve read a ton of classics, but still.


  6. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvatercover_ravenboys_300
    I’ve started to notice that people either seem to love or hate this book/series, and I’m glad I’m part of the former. I love Blue. And Gansey. And the Gangsey as a unit. And the ladies of 3oo Fox Way. I just want to LIVE in this book, ok?! *throws hands up in despair*


  7. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff51vpagsvayl-_sy344_bo1204203200_
    It was actually really difficult to pick between Illuminae and its sequel, Gemina. So I decided to go with the first book, because without it there would be no series/trilogy. And I do not want to live in such a world.


  8. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugosixofcrows
    Ditto with Six of Crows versus Crooked Kingdom. Both are great books that make up a fantastic duology, so I went with the first!


  9. Heartless by Marissa Meyer51mtojyp2l-_sx331_bo1204203200_
    I finished this book not too long ago, and I’m still in a bit of a hangover from it. Marissa didn’t make this list twice for nothing! She’s an amazing world builder and writer, and makes me care about characters that I know don’t even stand a chance (aka the Queen of Hearts!)


  10. The Martian by Andy Weirthe_martian_2014
    While some of the technical aspects in this book left me feeling like a true science noob, the story itself held enough humor and drama that I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. #SaveWatney!


What are some of the best books you read this year? Did you set and/or meet a reading goal? My personal goal was 50, and I managed to read/listen to 56!

One thought on “T10T: The Best Books I Read in 2016

Leave a Reply

