Book Tag Thursday: Bookish Book Lover Tag

Happy Thursday! It’s time for another weekly book tag, and I found this one over at Thrice Read. It sounded like a great wrap-up to the year, which, astonishingly, is almost over!

img_82241

Rules:

  • Use the original banner.
  • Answer the questions with lots of book covers!
  • Tag your friends.

What book are you currently reading?

41l6cvdmofl-_sy344_bo1204203200_Shrill: Notes from a Loud Woman by Lindy West. It’s seriously one of the best memoirs I’ve ever read. Lindy is so personable in her writing and feels like a kindred spirit, to the point where I constantly find myself thinking, “Same!” or “Thank you!” She has also introduced problems and ideas I’ve never thought about or considered, which is always good.


What’s the last book you finished?

51mtojyp2l-_sx331_bo1204203200_Heartless by Marissa Meyer. Don’t even get me started about the feels this book gave me. (But if you do want to talk about it, head over to my review. I’d be happy to talk to you in the comments or through a message!)


Favorite book you read this year?

17927395Oh my gosh, this is such a hard question. I really liked A Court of Mist and Fury. And Vassa in the Night. And the entire Harry Potter and Lunar Chronicles series. I don’t think I can choose! But I did narrow my list down to 10 in my recent T10T blog post!


What genre have you read most this year?

YA Fantasy/Fantasy, for sure. I was introduced to the amazing-ness of this genre early in the year, and it completely overtook my life!

What genre have you read least this year?

I almost never read Contemporaries, and that still holds true this year. But out of genres that I do read, Classic Fiction got the short end of the stick. (I think I read liiiike, three.)

What genre do you want to read more of?

I need to get back into my love of thrillers! I used to always buy the clearance/discounted thrillers at Barnes and Noble, and I’d find some real gems.

How many books have you read this year, and what’s your goal?

My goal was 50 books, and I’ve read 56. (Although a couple of those are audiobooks, so 54 might be more accurate.) I’m super proud of myself, because I got back into reading this year (after graduating from grad school) and honestly thought 50 would be way out of my league. I’m including my Goodreads Year in Books below for funsies. Feel free to add me on there if you’d like to!

screenshot-2016-12-28-15-45-23


What’s the last book you bought?

518wwd6sorl-_sy344_bo1204203200_I literally just went out and bought The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware before writing this post. I told y’all I wanted to get back into thrillers!


What book are you saving up to buy next?

51semvp8mrl-_sy344_bo1204203200_I’m not technically saving up, because I got some gift cards for Christmas. But the next book I intend to buy is Difficult Women by Roxane Gay, which comes out next month.


How many books did you check out at the library last visit?

Er… just one. It was an Agatha Christie novel for a readalong on Bookstagram. I really should use my library card more often, but I love owning my own books.

What’s a book you can’t wait to read?

The next book in the Illuminae Files! It doesn’t come out until late next year, but my internal clock is ticking.

What’s a series you’d recommend to everyone?

sixofcrows22299763The Six of Crows duology! There’s action, romance, magic, and all sorts of other things that could appeal to a variety of readers.


Who’s an author you’re hoping writes more?

Marissa Meyer! I’m always ready to snap up her books.

What are a few books your heart adores?

Thank you for limiting this to a few! The first that come mind are:

  • Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter
  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Cinder by Marissa Meyer

What series’ coming conclusion makes you sad?

Well, The Raven King (which is the conclusion to The Raven Cycle series) is already out, but I’ve been putting off reading it seriously FOREVER because I’m too sad that it’s the end.

What books are on your wishlist?

I really want the UK Harry Potter and Mistborn boxed sets. There are certain UK editions that are just so much better looking, but I never buy them!

My tags:

Anybody reading this!

Leave a Reply

