Book Tag Thursday: Reader Problems Tag

Happy Thursday! It’s the first Book Tag Thursday of the year, so I’ve decided to do the Reader Problems tag that I found over at The Book Nut. It focuses on the problems many of us face as avid readers, which, in my opinion, are the best problems to have! I’m hoping thinking about these questions and answering them might help me out of any slumps or predicaments in the new year.

1. You have 20,000 books in your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

I’d like to say I go in order of what’s been left unread the longest, buuuuut that’s sadly not true. I mostly go by what I’m feeling at the time, what has a sequel coming out, or what’s popular so I can talk to people about it!

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you put it down or are you committed?

Usually I’m committed. It would have to be pretty bad for me to DNF. I think I’ve only left one book and one audiobook unfinished in my whole life.

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re behind on your reading challenge. Do you try to catch up? If so, how?

My first reading challenge was this year, and fortunately I surpassed it, so I don’t really know what I’d do for sure. But I would probably try to catch up by reading books I know I will most likely love, or maybe even throwing in a Harry Potter reread. Can’t go wrong with HP, right?

4. The covers of a series you love do not match. How do you cope?

Eeeep, a series that I love? The covers would most likely match, because that would kill me! But if they didn’t, I’d hunt down the right set.

5. Everyone and their mother loves a book that you do not. Who do you bond with over your shared feelings?

I’m sure I could find someone on Bookstagram who shares my feelings! And if anything, I could message my best bookish friend, because even if she didn’t agree, she would hear me out.

6. You’re reading a book in public and you’re about to start crying. How do you deal?

I’m not much of a crier, especially a public crier. So either I would immediately close the book and try to hide the tears, or just let them flow. And if anyone looked at me strange I would tell them to leave me alone and LET ME FEEL MY FEELINGS.

7. The sequel to a book you loved just came out but you’ve forgotten a lot of what happens. Are you going to reread it?

Nope. I’ll probably look up a synopsis or something online, or just hope that it all comes back to me. I never reread books, because there’s only so much time in a day and in my life, and I prefer to spend it reading new ones. (Harry Potter would be the only exception.)

8. You do not want anyone to borrow your books. How do you politely say no when someone asks?

I’m not around enough readers in person for anyone to ever ask me, and I don’t think I’d have the heart to say no. I would just remind them to treat the book with care.

9. You have picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over this reading slump?

Wow, five?! That’s never happened to me before, but I suppose I would just binge Netflix or read some comics/manga instead. I actually did get out of a smaller slump by reading the manga Orange earlier this year.

10. There are so many books coming out that you are dying to read. How many do you end up buying?

ALL THE BOOKS. If I’m dying to read them, chances are I will purchase them almost as soon as they are released. I like to go to bookstores like Half Price Books, which sell books secondhand/cheaper, which helps a lot.

11. After you purchase all of these books that you’re dying to read, how long do they sit on your shelves before you get to them?

I will definitely finish whatever I’m reading at the time, but then I’d start the anticipated read afterward. That’s probably why my TBR is so long—some books get special treatment. I just can’t help myself!

What are some reader problems you experience? What’s some advice you have for overcoming problems such as slumps, TBRs, budgeting, etc.?

4 thoughts on “Book Tag Thursday: Reader Problems Tag

  1. For overcoming reading slumps, I like to just give myself some space. Tell myself there’s no pressure to read all the time. This is hard for me because I always like to “commit” to finishing a book, even if it’s not the best. Or maybe choose a book I’ve already read before and love, so I get back into enjoying reading again. Great responses! 🙂
    https://readandreview2016.wordpress.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

