T10T: 2016 Releases I Meant to Read, But Didn’t Get To (But Totally Plan To!)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

Let’s face it—the motto “So many books, So little time” rings more true than some of us would like to admit. I am personally guilty of buying books at a faster pace than I read them, so it’s no surprise that some of the 2016 releases I planned to read fell by the wayside.

Fortunately, 2017 offers a whole year of playing catch up, as long as I don’t get too distracted by all of the shiny new releases. (But let’s be real: I probably will. I’m like a Niffler when it comes to shiny new books, just a little less klepto.)

That being said, here are the top 10 2016 releases I planned to read and didn’t get to, but hope to read this year:

  1. The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvaterthe-raven-king-by-maggie-stiefvater
    I feel like a broken record talking about how I need to read this book. I’ve been putting it off for a while now, because I don’t want the series to end. But I need to pull up my big girl pants and just read the dang thing already!


  2. Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake23207027
    I got this book in one of my OwlCrates, and it sounds really badass. It just somehow got lost in the OwlCrate book pile up I’ve got going on.


  3. Nevernight by Jay Kristoff26114463
    Since I love The Illuminae Files, I wanted to give Jay’s new series a try. I hear great things, so I really need to move this higher up on my TBR and actually read it!


  4. My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows22840421
    I got this book in an OwlCrate as well. It met the same fate as Three Dark Crowns. (Though, admittedly, I’m not AS excited about it.)


  5. Dark Matter by Blake Crouch27833670
    After hearing a generally enthusiastic response to this book, I went out and bought it… And then never read it. Whoops! Hopefully I’ll get to it this year, when I’m in a SciFi mood.


  6. Remembrance (The Mediator #7) by Meg Cabot51yg8ahjn3l-_sx330_bo1204203200_
    I was sooooo excited when I heard there was another book added to The Mediator series, because I adored it as a teen/pre-teen. I even gushed about it when I met Meg Cabot at BookCon last May. But did I ever read it? Nope. I think part of me was trying to convince myself I would read it after a series re-read, but I highly doubt that will ever happen. I just need to start the book and hope it all comes back to me, like I usually do.


  7. The Chemist by Stephanie Meyerthe-chemist-jacket
    This book intrigues me, and I was going to listen to it on audiobook. But the narrator seemed too monotone, so I never bought it (audio or otherwise). It’s on sale at Barnes and Noble right now, though, so I’ll probably pick it up and stick it on my TBR.


  8. A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab20764879
    I actually meant to read the first book in this series, A Darker Shade of Magic, and A Gathering of Shadows in time for the third installment, which releases this February. But neither of those reads ever happened. I know: shame on me, shame on my cow. I really need a binge read if I’m going to be prepared for February!


  9. Orange, collection two by Ichigo Takano68512320d4b3df77c4f2da7b218342c9
    I looooved the first collection of this manga, and I bought both collections at the same time, assuming I wouldn’t want any lag time in between reads. Yet, somehow, I let collection two get pushed aside by other books. I have a problem, apparently.


  10. The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis25812109
    I completely, utterly forgot this book existed until I started making this list. I remember seeing people talk about it, and thinking I should read it. But apparently I never went out and bought it. So I just had this ghost book on my TBR, coming out to haunt me in the new year.

What are some books you put off in 2016, but want to read this year?

 

5 thoughts on “T10T: 2016 Releases I Meant to Read, But Didn’t Get To (But Totally Plan To!)

    1. I would love to buddy read something! Is there a book you have in mind? After the DAReadAThon is over on the 15th, I’ll have the freedom to read whatever!

      Like

      1. That’s so strange 🤔 it’s been working fine for me today. But I had Three Dark Crowns, Nevernight, The Chemist, The Female of the Species, to name a few. Also A Gathering of Shadows, but I still need to read A Darker Shade of Magic.

        Like

  1. Major ones are Truthwitch by Susan Dennard, A Gathering of Shadows, Passenger by Alex Bracken (which I just bought, so should read soon), The Shadow Queen by CJ Redwine, The Star-Touched Queen, and a handful of others I reallllly meant to get to but didn’t. Hope you get to all these, they look great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

