Book Tag Thursday: Ringing in the New Year

img_2872

Alright, so I’m a little late to ring in the new year, since it’s already January 12th. But I still thought this tag I saw from Tiana @ The Book Raven would be fun because, in my opinion, as long as it’s January, the year is fresh!

Rules

  • Link to the person who tagged you
  • Link to the creator of the tag – Rae @ Bookmark Chronicles
  • Share the tag image
  • Answer the questions below
  • Tag friends (optional)

Questions

Best book and/or series that you read in 2016?

Whyyyy does everyone make it sound like it’s so simple to narrow it down to the best? Am I just more indecisive than everyone else? Ugh. At least there’s an “and/or” option so I can talk about more than one still.28220892

As for the best book, aka standalone, I would have to go with Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter. It was so weirdly magical and like nothing I’ve ever read before!

The best series would have to be The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. I will never forget her reaction when I showed her my Scarlet-inspired tattoo on her Heartless tour. Best day everrrr.

Authors that you’ve recently found and would like to read more of in the new year?

I was very behind on finding Sarah J. Maas, and I can’t wait to read her upcoming books this year! I also want to read more from VE Schwab, Ruth Ware, and Lindy West.

Most anticipated book turned movie/tv show?10015384-_sy540_

I just finished reading Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertali, and I heard it
will get made into a movie. Not sure if it’s true, but I think I would watch it! (I’m not normally a fan of book adaptations on the big or little screen, but Simon was just too cute.)

Character that you wouldn’t mind sharing a kiss with at midnight (if there is one)?

Richard Gansey III from The Raven Cycle!

What’s on your TBR for 2017? (Top 5 will suffice if it’s an extremely long list!)

It is, indeed, an extremely long list. But the first five that come to mind are:

  • A Darker Shade of Magic by VE Schwab
  • Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake
  • Nevernight by Jay Kristoff
  • Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
  • The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

How many books do you hope to read in 2016?

60! My goal last year was 50, and I beat it by six books, so I think 60 sounds doable.

Will you participate in the Goodreads Reading Challenge or any others (PopSugar, Read the Books You Buy, etc.)?

Yes, I’ve already begun my Goodreads challenge (I’m three books ahead so far; just gotta keep that momentum up for 300+ days! haha) I’ve also been participating in Winter Bookish Bingo and the Dumbledore’s Army Readathon.

Any New Year’s Resolutions (Bookish, blogging, and otherwise)?

I’m hoping to get in the habit of reviewing more books after I read them, as well as focusing more on my blogging in general (here and at Thirty on Tap, where I’m a contributing writer).

As for general resolutions, I’d like to find and actually stick to some kind of workout routine (since I currently do nothing). I also want to travel more and get out of my day-to-day comfort zone. My best friend and I are in talks to travel to Iceland together, so I’m crossing my fingers that it will happen!

Tags?

Since it’s already quite a bit past New Year’s, I won’t tag anyone specifically. But if you see this and want to participate, feel free to link back to me so I can see!

 

One thought on “Book Tag Thursday: Ringing in the New Year

  1. The first question isn’t supposed to be easy! lol I get yelled at for that one a lot actually 🙂 I’m behind on the SJM bandwagon as well but I’m waiting until the last of Throne of Glass comes out in September because I hate starting a series and having to wait!

    Like

Leave a Reply

