Dumbledore’s Army Readathon Wrap Up

The #DAReadAThon, hosted by Aentee @ Read at Midnight, officially ended on Sunday at the strike of midnight, so I thought I should share my final score!

dareadathon-4

Books Read

dareadathon-expecto-patronum

Book: Shrill: Notes from a Loud Woman by Lindy West41l6cvdmofl-_sy344_bo1204203200_
Pages: 272
Status: Complete
Points Earned: 32
Rating: ★★★★★

By far one of the best memoirs I’ve ever read. West speaks earnestly and candidly about being both fat and feminist in America. She had me laughing, agreeing vehemently, cringing, sympathizing, and almost crying throughout the book. I love knowing there are women out there like West who I can connect with through their words, especially about such important ideas.

da-readathon-expelliarmus

Book: Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst25164304
Pages: 389
Status: Complete
Social Media Share(s): 1
Points Earned: 45
Rating: ★★★

The author’s writing wasn’t quite my style; I felt like many things were over-explained and there was just a general lack of subtext. The characters also felt a bit shallow. Mare was the only one who had a distinct personality. The story, however, was really interesting. I blew through the last third of the book just because I couldn’t handle not knowing what was going to happen!

da-readathon-protego

Book: Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood by Marjane Satrapi51maszxex8l-_sx317_bo1204203200_
Pages: 153
Status: Complete
Points Earned: 20
Rating: ★★★

While I loved that Persepolis was written and illustrated like a comic, I think the issues she talks about were a bit too complex for the style. Or maybe I am just too ignorant about the history of Iran and needed more background information for it all to fully sink in through comic panels. There were, however, really great parts. I enjoyed the blend of humor and emotion, and heavy and light-hearted experiences.

da-readathon-reducto

Book: Difficult Women by Roxane Gay51semvp8mrl-_sy344_bo1204203200_
Pages:
256
Status: Complete
Points Earned: 31
Rating: ★★★★

Roxane Gay’s writing is so earnest and honest, I love reading her books and other works. While fictitious, this book is full of short stories about women from various backgrounds that humbled and inspired me, because I could imagine them as real people. Some of them also made me extremely angry, because I know real people DO experience difficult and painful situations like the ones in the book. And I’m not 100% sure, but I believe the last story is actually nonfiction, from the point of view of Gay herself. It was so moving and heartbreaking. The only reason I couldn’t rate Difficult Women five stars was the fact that the very obvious sexual theme throughout the book was a bit much for me, though I understand the importance of talking about it.

dareadathon-impedimenta

Book: Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Bruntrifkabrunt_tell-the-wolves
Pages:
360
Status: 10 pages read
Points Earned: 1
Rating: N/A

I didn’t get very far in this book before the readathon came to an end, and I’m not quite sure I’ll ever pick it up again. Since I only got 10 pages in, I can’t comfortably rate it, but I don’t think it’s my cup of tea (excuse my lame pun because of the cover art, I couldn’t help it). While the story sounds beautiful, I think it will be too slow-moving for me.

dareadathon-stupefy

Book: An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahirember
Pages:
446
Status: 73 pages read
Points Earned: 7
Rating: N/A

Seeing as how the sequel to this book is already out, I am very behind on reading An Ember in the Ashes. But rather than dwell on why it took me so long, I will just thank this readathon for finally kicking me in the pants to start it! Even though I didn’t finish it before the end of the readathon, I am certainly going to continue with it.

dareadthon-lumos

Book: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli10015384-_sy540_
Pages:
303
Status: Complete
Social Media Share(s): 1
Points Earned: 36
Rating: ★★★★★

OMG. This book, y’all. I wasn’t expecting it to be anything special, even though there is some hype surrounding it, because I’m not normally into romance or contemporary novels. But IT’S SO CUTE. Simon is adorable and so relatable and just the best. And even though I guessed who the mysterious Blue was almost right away, I was still very invested in what happened and whether Simon finds out and how he reacts. I’m pretty sure I was cheesing like an idiot for at least half of the book.

I had a ton of fun with this readathon, and I feel like it widened my horizons a bit when it comes to reading diverse books. I’m happy to have scored 172 points for Gryffindor; I only lament that I didn’t write more full reviews to add more points to that final number. But I feel pretty successful overall, and I hope everyone who participated had a good experience as well!

One thought on “Dumbledore’s Army Readathon Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

