T10T: Books I Liked More/Less Than I Thought I Would

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

Happy Tuesday! I hope everyone had a great Monday, especially those who had the day off for President’s Day in the U.S. (Or, should I say, Not My President’s Day, in spirit of the rallies that were held all over the country.) I still had to work, but today is my work-from-home day, so that’s better than nothing!

Today’s T10T prompt calls for books that I liked more/less than I thought I would. I was originally going to pick either more or less, but I thought it might be more interesting to add some variety and do five I liked more and five I liked less instead.

Books I Liked Less Than I Thought I Would

  1. Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas
    The previous book in this series, Heir of Fire, was by far my favorite. I was so excited to continue the story from there, but something about the characters and attitude of QoS was off-putting, especially in regards to Chaol. It didn’t deter me from continuing with the series, but it was disappointing for sure.
  2. In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware
    This had all the makings of a spooky thriller, but it fell short for me. The plot felt a bit too contrived, and literally nothing scary happened (in my opinion).
  3. Dark Places by Gillian Flynn
    I really liked Gone Girl, so I figured I would like this book by Flynn as well. Wrong. I couldn’t stand any of the characters and basically forced myself to read to the end so I could at least solve the mystery. (Or should I say skim to the end.)
  4. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
    I didn’t start this book with super high expectations or anything, but since some people said it was in the same vein as The Hunger Games, I was excited to read it. (Because I freakin’ love THG.) But once I finished it, I felt pretty meh about it. The book seemed to be a bunch of different books rolled into one and not very original. I still plan to read the rest of the series, but I’m not in a hurry to do so.
  5. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë
    I had several people tell me to read this because it was their favorite classic, but I was not impressed. The main characters were just spoiled assholes who I did not care about at all. Or, should I say, the main characters of the story within the story, because the actual plot of the novel was being told secondhand. That also irked me. I think the story would have been way better if Brontë had written it like it was currently taking place.

Books I Liked More Than I Thought I Would

  1. Cinder by Marissa Meyer
    I bought this book on whim last year because I had seen people talking about The Lunar Chronicles series as a whole on Bookstagram (and also it was on Amazon for super cheap). I didn’t expect to fall in love with it or the series, or to meet Marissa Meyer twice and get a character tattooed on myself. But here we are!
  2. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
    I saw a signed copy of this book while browsing at Barnes and Noble, and picked it up just for the heck of it. Then I put off reading it forever. But once I finally started, I couldn’t stop! I read the whole thing in almost one night.
  3. The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware
    Seeing as how In a Dark, Dark Wood failed to meet my expectations, I didn’t set the bar very high for this book. But I ended up really enjoying it. It was definitely the kind of thrill I wanted out of Ware!
  4. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas
    I read the previous book in this series, A Court of Thorns and Roses, way later than most people, and liked it more than most people. So I was really weary going into ACOMAF, because people kept talking about how much better it was than ACOTAR and how drool-worthy Rhysand was. I couldn’t imagine how it could be that much better, or how people could switch their allegiances from Tamlin so quickly. Boy, was I put in my place. This dang book still haunts me!
  5. Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter
    I got Vassa in one of my OwlCrates, and read reviews on Goodreads that kept calling it weird. Like, really weird. I thought it might be too niche or out-there for me, but I enjoyed it immensely; there was something refreshing about it’s oddities and uniqueness.

That completes my 10 books! Did you have any similar or differing opinions about any of these?

Leave a Reply

