February Wrap Up

dsc_0418

I know February is a short month, but did anyone feel like it was WAY shorter than usual? I can’t believe it’s already March. What’s more, I can’t believe I’m currently four books ahead in my reading goal this year. I want to read 60 books, and I’ve read 14 in total so far. Six of those 14 were read in February, so let’s break the ratings down, shall we?

  • Orange, volume two by Ichigo Takano: ★★★
    Unfortunately, I enjoyed volume two of Orange less than volume one. The ending seemed kind of abrupt, and the characters didn’t really seem to evolve as much as I was hoping they would.
  • Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake: ★★★★
    This book caught me by surprise. I had no expectations going into it, mostly because I didn’t hear much about it from anyone, and I ended up loving it! At first I was worried the pacing was too slow, but it actually gave the book a menacing vibe and I quickly became immersed in the world and characters’ lives.
  • Wires and Nerve by Marissa Meyer: ★★★★
    I figured I’d end up rating this five stars (or more!) because I’m in love with The Lunar Chronicles, but I just can’t get over how much I don’t like the illustrations. Especially Wolf! I know he got genetically mutated, but good gods.
  • Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough: ★★★
    I alllllmost gave this four stars, because the ending was so freakin’ crazy, but I decided most of the book was a solid three and so that’s where it shall stay. It just seemed like a lot of scenes kept dragging on for no reason, and the main character (Louise) started to annoy me after awhile. YET. That ending, man. It still makes me shift in my seat uncomfortably when I think about it.
  • The Dry by Jane Harper: ★★★★
    I grabbed this 2017 debut on a whim, and I’m super glad I did. There was a great mix of action, emotion, and mystery, so even when I had a feeling I knew what the twist was going to be (or should I say who), it wasn’t a let down to be right. Plus, there were actually two separate stories twisted together, which made the ending that much more heartbreaking.
  • A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab: ★★★★
    It took me foreverrrrrr to finish this book, but only because I was in a fantasy reading slump this month. Once I read a couple of thrillers and shook the slump off, I fully enjoyed reading AGOS, especially the parts with the magic tournament. And that ending! I can see why people were so eager for the sequel. The only things keeping this from five stars were the too-long/repetitive descriptions. I found myself skimming a lot toward the end.

I actually finished AGOS on Feb. 28, meaning I just barely squeezed in a 6th book for the month. But I’ll take it! It helped keep me ahead in my reading goal, which the book gods know I’ll need when the end of the year rolls around and I get distracted by holidays.

How many books did y’all read this month? Any favorites?

Leave a Reply

