The Literary Dinner Party Tag

I saw this tag posted by Ash Reads @ Our Book & Bookish Thoughts, and wanted to give it a try, because it combines two things I love: food and books! Plus, I’ve never actually hosted a dinner party, so this is kind of like practice. Right?

For this tag, you can invite any character you want, but there are 10 different categories you need to fill, and there are only room for 11 people. Decisions, decisions!

Who cooks dinner?

Catherine Pinkerton (Heartless). Ok, so she’s a baker and mostly just does desserts. But dessert is the most important part, so…

Who funds the party?

Richard Gansey III (The Raven Cycle). I can’t imagine him caring if he had to foot the bill, because he is rich and oh so lovable.

Who might cause a scene?

I can imagine Lysandra (Throne of Glass) shape-shifting into a leopard right in the middle of the party just to freak everyone out.

Who is the life of the party?

Simon (Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda). I feel like he doesn’t consider himself the party type, but I find him absolutely adorable and hilarious.

Who is the super social one?

Iko (The Lunar Chronicles). She’s always down to socialize and mingle, and could help me figure out what to wear!

Who is the villain?

Prince Maven (Red Queen). I’d be very intrigued to see what kind of bat shit crazy stuff happens with him there.

Who are the inseparable couple? (Romantic or not)

I’m going to go against the romantic grain here and choose Prince Rhy and Kell (Shades of Magic). Those two are so funny together, and I think a pair of brothers could provide some great banter.

Who is the hero?

Elias Veturius (An Ember in the Ashes). I don’t care what he thinks about himself or his soul or lack there of… Elias is a hero to me! (And a sexy one at that.)

Who is feeling left out?

August Flynn (Monsters of Verity). He is so quiet and independent, but I promise to glue myself to his side if necessary.

Who gets invited for the hell of it?

Katharine (Three Dark Crowns). I just want to give that poor girl a poison-free meal.

That was a lot more difficult than I anticipated. Maybe because I was trying not to overlap any books and characters, so there would be an interesting mix.

If you decide to try this tag, feel free to link back to me, that way I can see who you chose!

Leave a Reply

