The Emoji Book Tag

As soon as I saw this tag posted by Tiana @ The Book Raven, I knew I had to do it for myself this Book Tag Thursday! It looks like a lot of fun.

The idea is to pick five different emojis, and then choose five books that correspond with them. Since you can pick any emoji and book you want, the posts will all be unique, which is awesome. The only difficult part was narrowing down the bazillion emojis I love to five!

Crying-Laughing Emoji πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚10015384-_sy540_

This is probably my most-used emoji, because I am frequently laughing until I cry, or a mix between laughter and tears. (My feelings are complicated, ok?) I think the book that best represents this emoji is Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli, because Simon is a hilarious character and the story itself is really touching.


Eye Rolling Emoji πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„red_queen_book_cover

I was so happy when Apple released more sarcastic/sassy emojis, like the eye roll. Sometimes you just have no other reaction than that! Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard reminds me of this emoji, because the main character is so frustrating and the storyline isn’t exactly original to me. I’m going to read the whole series, but only because I’m not a quitter.


Surprised/Screaming in Fear Emoji 😱😱😱23207027

I’m pretty good at seeing twists or surprises coming, but for some reason Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake kept me on my toes. Even when I knew something was about to happen, or had that foreboding feeling in the pit of my stomach, I didn’t know exactly what that something was. So needless to say, that ending was definitely worthy of this surprise face!


Spark/Starburst Emoji πŸ’₯πŸ’₯πŸ’₯51vpagsvayl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

What better books relate to the starburst emoji than The Illuminae Files by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff? They take place in outer space, and both stories released so far have been packed with action. Plus, Gemina was mind-blowing while I was reading it. So the books not only check off every item on the awesome list, they blow them up!


Unicorn Emoji πŸ¦„πŸ¦„πŸ¦„28220892

In my mind, unicorns represent rarity and magic. So the unicorn emoji perfectly resembles Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter, because if you’ve heard me talk about this book, you know I always say I’ve never read anything like it. The story is unique and very strange, which some people didn’t like, but that’s what I loved about it.


And that completes my five! I really enjoyed and could have easily kept going with this tag, so don’t be surprised if there is an Emoji Book Tag, Part Two in the future. As always, if you decide to participate, feel free to link back to me so I can see what you chose!

5 thoughts on “The Emoji Book Tag

Leave a Reply

