WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday is a weekly memewww hosted by Taking on a World of Words.

Happy Wednesday! I thought today’s WWW post would be a nice way to update my progress for the FemPowerAThon readathon, since five books in one week is no joke for me and my flaky reading moods.

Fortunately, I’m relatively on track, because I chose relatively short books. (But don’t tell anyone I said that!)

The Three Ws

What are you currently reading?empress

Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza. I’ve heard mostly good reviews for this book, and one really terrible one. So needless to say, I’m intrigued. I’m not far enough into it to have a firm opinion yet, but it gives me some serious Star Wars/Star Trek vibes. (And, yes, I know those two are completely different things; I’m just saying I’ve gotten distinct vibes of both.)

I actually started Empress a little while ago, but took a hiatus because a different book I was reading at the same time let me down (lookin’ at you, The Devil in the White City). I needed a new nonfiction book that was actually going to be good, and that fit the readathon parameters, which brings me to the next prompt…


What did you recently finish reading?51HbdUjTRVL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling. I knew I would enjoy this book, because I’ve loved Mindy’s work on both The Office and her show The Mindy Project. I find her hilarious and smart, and it was fun to get a glimpse into her life through the lens of family, love, and comedy. Her tone throughout this book was super conversational, to the point where I couldn’t put it down. I finished it in one night! I only wished she would have touched on some more important subjects; the only really serious essay was her opinion on comedy roasts.


What do you think you’ll read next?51X5Nnc5FRL._SY346_

Most likely City of Saints & Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson. I had no idea that this book was part thriller when I asked Penguin Teen to send it me, but now that I know, I’m even more pumped to read it.
I hope it’s good!

What are y’all reading?

Leave a Reply

