#FemPowerAThon Wrap Up

Ah, the dreaded Monday. I thought I’d shake off my back-to-work blues by posting my wrap up from the #FemPowerAThon, which ended yesterday. I didn’t quite get through my TBR, but I came awfully close!

If you didn’t see my TBR post, FemPowerAThon is a readathon that celebrates strong women, which ran from March 19 to 26. There were eight different prompts that the books you chose should have tried to incorporate, but if you didn’t think you could read eight books, you were allowed to double up (so two prompts per book).

Screenshot 2017-03-19 16.22.53

Here are the books I read, along with which prompts they covered:

  • A woman in a position of power: Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza
  • A woman of color: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling
  • An own voices novel: Dear Ijeawele, Or a Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • A prominent sister relationship & A female protagonist and not set in a western world: City of Saints & Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson

I was able to read four books that covered five prompts. I didn’t know before reading City of Saints & Thieves that it would include a prominent sister relationship, so that was a nice surprise. I loved each book, except Empress of a Thousand Skies; I thought that one was just average. I was definitely the most inspired by Dear Ijeawele and City of Saints & Thieves.

Have you read any of these books? What did you think?

Leave a Reply

