T10T: Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want to Read a Book

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

I read a pretty wide variety of genres, so this week’s Top 10 Tuesday prompt really made me stop and think about what exactly draws me to certain books more than others. I think I figured some things out, and to help with my thought process, I’ve included examples of books I want/wanted to read specifically for the reason stated.

So, without further ado, I will instantly want to read a book if…

  1. It takes place entirely in outer space.51vpagsvayl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

    Since I’m not an astronaut, I enjoy pretending I know what space is like through books, even if it’s fictional. And there’s just something exciting about the extra danger the vastness of space and zero-gravity entails. Example: Illuminae


  2. There are creepy-looking trees on the cover.25036310
    I don’t know what it is, but if I see a cover with dead, creepy trees on it, I want to read the contents. Example: Last Seen Leaving


  3. It’s being made into a TV show, and I have enough time to read it before the release.handmaid
    I’m a TV junkie, so odds are I will watch the show, and I take it as a personal challenge to read the book before the release of the first episode. Example: The Handmaid’s Tale


  4. It’s feminist, gender-bent, or promises a badass female lead.
    I don’t think this one needs much explaining, because women are awesome. Example: Thor (Goddess of Thunder)


  5. It was written by Marissa Meyer.renegades
    I don’t even need to know what the book is about; if Marissa touched it, I’m reading it. Example: Renegades


  6. The setting is in a country I don’t live in, or know little about.51X5Nnc5FRL._SY346_
    I used to be in a terrible habit of mostly reading books that took place in America or Great Britain, and I’ve been trying to fix that. Example: City of Saints & Thieves


  7. It has been reviewed as really scary.9781501112317_custom-b94a64187bf3180e71db57fd0feedeb786ff5a89-s300-c85
    Thrillers have been the foundation of my reading life for as long as I can remember. will be the judge of what is scary! Example: In a Dark, Dark Wood (for the record, not scary)


  8. It’s a fantasy my book bestie raves about.
    I value Melanie’s opinion on these things, so if she talks about it a lot or features it on her Instagram, odds are I will pick it up! Example: Mistborn, Passenger


  9. Characters can control the elements.22055262
    This gives me hardcore Avatar: The Last Airbender vibes, and since I want to be an airbender so badly, I will read about people who can work this fabulous magic. Example: A Darker Shade of Magic


  10. It causes people to swear allegiance to certain people/places/etc.
    I love the competition and playful banter that ensues when readers love a book, but are divided by their allegiances to certain aspects of it. Example: Harry Potter Hogwarts Houses (I’m a Gryffindor), A Court of Thorns and Roses Courts (I’d be in the Dawn Court)

What about you? What makes you instantly want to read a book?

Leave a Reply

