T10T: Covers with Ominous Trees on Them

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

Ok, if you read my last Top 10 Tuesday post, you know one thing that will instantly make me want to read a book is if it has some ominous, creepy-looking trees on the cover. I don’t know what it is, but that just screams thriller or some sort of mystery to me, whether they’re real trees, silhouettes, or simple lines.

So, in honor of this weird obsession I have, I decided to dedicate today’s cover freebie prompt to creepy/cool trees! Here are my top 10 favorites:

  1. Last Seen Leaving by Caleb Roehrig25036310
    I love this one because it has both tree silhouettes and a person silhouette, and is also illustrative. Very mysterious!


  2. A Good Idea by Cristina Morachogoodidea
    At first I thought the bathtub was a little much, like maybe the publishers were trying too hard to make the cover look creepy. But once you read the book, it makes total sense based off of like, one paragraph, and really did creep me out more.


  3. And the Trees Crept In by Dawn Kurtagich28449150
    This one literally has the words trees and creep in it, albeit in past tense, but still. I haven’t read it, but you bet your ass I want to; just look at that cover!


  4. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness{60C93FE3-3FFE-426B-958A-7603CBDE5485}Img400
    I wanted to read this book before the movie came out, but never did. And I also never saw the movie. I think everyone’s emotional reactions made me nervous. But now that the hype isn’t as big, I can’t wait to read and possibly watch it!


  5. The Devil Crept In by Ania Ahlborn51tJXZMOU3L._SX320_BO1,204,203,200_
    More creeping! Except this time it’s the devil. BUT there are still trees on the cover, so I’m sold.


  6. In A Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware9781501112317_custom-b94a64187bf3180e71db57fd0feedeb786ff5a89-s300-c85
    While I wasn’t a huge fan of this book, the cover is one of the reasons I read it in the first place. The simplicity really grabbed me, and trees played a pretty big part in the “scare” factor. (Scare in quotes because I was not impressed.)


  7. Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater6068551
    Ok, so this one isn’t really a thriller; it’s more of a romance, because this is Maggie we’re talking about. But I still love the design of this edition!


  8. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi51SR3PoaWML._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_
    I have actually no idea what this book is about, but the eyeball has TREES FOR EYELASHES. That is so cool and weird.


  9. Mice by Gordon Reece9895889
    I’ve had this book on my shelves for quite some time now. I picked it up at a library sale specifically because it had this soft, misty cover with one lone tree on it. I mean, the story sounded interesting, too. But I’m trying to being honest here.


  10. The Dry by Jane Harper27824826
    Ok, so this is brush, not trees. So sue me! I love this cover anyway. Maybe I just have a thing for nature. Or plants. Dead, nature plants. I’m starting to worry myself.

What about you? Anything that grabs your attention when it’s on a book cover?

Leave a Reply

