T10T: Series I’ve Been Meaning to Start, But Haven’t

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

Happy Tuesday! I would like to say that I’m back in the groove of posting weekly for Top 10 Tuesday, but I also don’t want to jinx myself, so I’ll just say that I’m here again and excited to talk about book series with you!

This week’s prompt is series I’ve been meaning to start but haven’t, and I’m pretty sure I won’t have trouble reaching 10 just basing the list off of my TBR alone. So, without further ado, here are the top 10 series I need to start, in no particular order:

  1. Passenger by Alexandra Bracken
    I currently own both Passenger and Wayfarer, but they’ve been sitting on my TBR shelf for aaaaages.
  2. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugoshadow_bone_sketch_castle
    Ok, technically, I have started this book. I got several chapters in before I went to a book signing to meet Leigh Bardugo, but then I set it aside to read Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2) and never picked it back up. Whoops.
  3. Bone Season by Samantha Shannon
    The first book in this series has also been sitting on my TBR shelf for a while, but people have told me I might as well wait because the series is planned to be hella long. So, there’s that.
  4. The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare
    I am torn between starting this series and never reading it. Like I know people who love it and people who hate it, with very little opinions that are in between.img_0299
  5. The Infernal Devices / The Dark Artifices by Cassandra Clare
    I honestly don’t know what the difference is between any of these series, but I hear they’re better than TMI. BUT I also hear that it will be far more helpful to read TMI first. Hence why Cassie Clare and I have never been introduced!
  6. Red Rising by Pierce Brown
    There’s not much to say about this, other than it’s Pierce Brown, so of course I want to read it.
  7. The Nevernight Chronicle by Jay Kristoff26114463
    I bought Nevernight when I found a signed first edition at my local Barnes and Noble, and had the intention of starting it right away. Alas, that never happened, and now the sequel is already coming out. I blame the fact that the U.K. editions are way more awesome, and mine is U.S. Ugh.
  8. Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor
    Another book I intended to start relatively quickly after purchasing it. But I originally thought it was a standalone, so when I found out it was going to be a series, I didn’t feel the need to rush.
  9. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylordaughter-of-smoke-bone-fixed13
    Another one I’ve technically already started, because I was going to a signing to meet Laini, but then set aside and didn’t pick back up. Maybe this summer should be the season of “Megan Finishing Books That She Abandoned.”
  10. Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones
    I threw Wintersong in my cart so I could get free shipping from Target when I pre-ordered ACOWAR, which is not to say I haven’t been meaning to read it, just that it isn’t as high on my list of priorities. But now that the cover for the sequel has been released, I feel the pressure starting to build!

There seems to be a recurring “bone” theme in this list, and I wonder if there’s an underlying message in there for me somewhere. What series have you been meaning to start, but haven’t?

SaveSave

3 thoughts on “T10T: Series I’ve Been Meaning to Start, But Haven’t

    1. Hahaha I think at this point I have also indirectly decided not to 😂 I hear great things about RR, though, so I hope it has a better fate!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I have yet to read a lot of these series too, particularly The Infernal Devices/The Last Artifices (I’ve read TMI but never technically finished it, I left off with one book to go. Oops!) I’d also really like to read Red Rising. The Grishaverse is my favorite series/collection of books EVER, so I highly recommend giving Shadow & Bone another chance! And I’ve read everything Laini Taylor’s published, her writing never ceases to amaze me. You should definitely pick up DoSaB or Strange the Dreamer when you get the opportunity. ❤
    Here's my TTT!
    http://penandparchment.org/top-ten-tuesday-series-ive-been-meaning-to-start-but-havent/

    Like

Leave a Reply

