WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words.

wwwIt’s been quite some time since I’ve done a WWW Wednesday post and I thought it would be a good time to resume, because I’ve been in a terrible reading slump lately that I thiiiink I’ve finally escaped. I don’t even know how or why the slump started, but all I wanted to do for weeks was rewatch Criminal Minds on Netflix and play Candy Crush, because apparently it’s 2013. Anyway, on to the prompts!

The Three Ws

What are you currently reading?

This question has a two-part answer, because I am a complicated person.

I am technically reading three books right now: Warcross (ARC) by Marie Lu; Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett; and Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. I was in the middle of Warcross when my slump started, which was weird because I was enjoying the book. I thought a contemporary would help shake the slump, so I started Alex, Approximately. That didn’t work either, and they both lie abandoned about 100 pages in.

Fast forward to this past Monday, which was the 20th anniversary of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. All the HP feels on Instagram inspired me to pick the book up for a reread, and that’s what I’ve been reading since! I’m normally not a rereader, but I feel like an exception can be made for HP, especially in a slump.

What did you recently finish reading?

theres-someone-inside-your-house-by-stephanie-perkinsThe last book I finished was the ARC of There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins. BUT, this turned out to be a partial ARC, so I’m not even really done with the story. I actually think this was the trigger for my slump, because I was sooooo mad at how the ARC just cut off in the middle of the story (RIGHT BEFORE THE KILLER WAS REVEALED) that maybe it gave me ill feelings toward ARCs in general. I’m hoping when I actually finish Warcross I’ll feel better about them!

What do you think you’ll read next?

perfect tenI want to say I’ll go back to Warcross, but I don’t want to pressure myself into it, especially because I adore Marie Lu and want to give her story the interest it deserves. So I may actually start Perfect Ten by L. Philips. I just received it from Penguin Teen for review, and it sounds SO STINKIN CUTE. I wasn’t too into Alex, Approximately, so maybe Perfect Ten is the contemporary I need!

What are y’all currently reading? Do you ever get hit by a slump out of nowhere?

One thought on “WWW Wednesday

Leave a Reply

