Top 5 Wednesday: Children’s Books

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey @ Ginger Reads Lainey and Samantha @ Thoughts on Tomes. Check out the Top 5 Wednesday Goodreads page for topics!

Since Top 10 Tuesday is on hiatus, I thought participating in a different weekly meme would be fun, and I stumbled across Top 5 Wednesday via Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek. This week’s prompt is children’s books, and it was definitely a trip down memory lane coming up with five of my favorites!

  1. Coraline by Neil Gaimancoraline
    This remains a favorite of mine to this day, and I’ve reread the book and rewatched the film adaptation countless times. Coraline was such a brave and relatable character, and Gaiman’s imagination is hard to match! I think it inspired my love of thriller/horror/fantasy at an early age.
  2. Beezus and Ramona (Ramona Quimby) by Beverly Cleary
    I remember eating up Beverly Cleary books (both children’s and more young adult), particularly this series. I never had a sister, and my brother and I were too far apart in age at the time, so I liked reading about Ramona and Beezus’ relationship, as well as Ramona’s antics.
  3. A Wrinkle in Time (Time Quintet) by Madeleine L’EngleA_wrinkle_in_time_digest_2007
    These books blew my young mind when I read them, and I’m curious to see what I would think if I reread them now. From time travel to talking brains and fighting EVIL, I am 100 percent certain that the Time Quintet gave me an appreciation for science fiction and fantasy, as well as strong female characters like Meg.
  4. Amber Brown in Not a Crayon (Amber Brown) by Paula Danziger
    I don’t remember these books in much detail, but I do remember relating to Amber Brown as a kid with real-world problems, like her parents getting divorced.
  5. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnettthesecretgarden
    This book was so whimsical and beautifully written, and I vividly remember getting my parents to buy me both it and A Little Princess in the same editions at Target when I was young. I collect multiple editions even now, because they only get more gorgeous as the years pass!

 

What were/are some of your favorite children’s books?

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday: Children’s Books

  1. Great choices here, Megan 🙂
    I haven’t read any of them yet but heard wonderful things about them.
    I absolutely adored The Secret Garden, though I read it only a couple years back. Still, it enchanted me like I was actually a kid again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

