Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag

I know we’re technically past the mid-year mark now, but I’ve been wanting to do this tag for a while, so technicalities be damned! I was actually tagged to do this on Instagram by the wonderful Paula @pauweredbyfaith, and I plan on doing it there, but thought it would be fun for my blog as well. So here goes nothin’!

conjuringBest book you’ve read so far in 2017

Ahhh, this is a tough one, since I’ve read 51 books so far and it’s asking me to pick ONE out of ALL GENRES?! I think I’m going to go with A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab. What a powerhouse of a book and series!

Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2017

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater. I think, much like A Conjuring of Light, it was a great end to a great series.

ourdarkduetNew release you haven’t read yet, but want to

Our Dark Duet by V.E. Schwab. I bought it the day it came out in June (or was it May?), and still haven’t read it. For shame!

Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

One Dark Throne by Kendare Blake. I tried my hardest to get an ARC of this book, because I didn’t want to wait until September, but only managed to get a digital ARC that won’t work anywhere but my phone. I’m not experiencing this book for the first time on my phone, so I’m still waiting impatiently.

acowar_usBiggest disappointment

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas. I had a lot of expectations for this book after reading A Court of Mist and Fury (I even took off a day of work to read it!) It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t the soul-crushing, heart-breaking series finale I was hoping for.

Biggest surprise

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli. I read this book because I wanted to diversify my TBR a bit, and didn’t expect to fall in love with it as much as I did! I can safely say it’s an all-time favorite now.

Favorite new author

breakdownB.A. Paris. I read both of her books this year (Behind Closed Doors and The Breakdown), and she is now an auto-buy author for me! I haven’t enjoyed a thriller as much as The Breakdown in a long time, so it was very refreshing.

Newest fictional crush

Elias Veturius. He’s not super new, because I had been listening to An Ember in the Ashes forever on audio, but I finally finished it and started the sequel this year, so I think he counts!

Newest favorite character

Saralinda from And Then There Were Four by Nancy Werlin. The book was an average read for me, and it took a little while to get used to Saralinda’s rambling POV. But once I did, I really enjoyed being inside her head. She was a bit naive, but brave and unabashedly herself.

thugBook that made you cry

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. It’s such a powerful book; I went to an author signing she was at and even just the audience talking about the book made me cry!

Book that made you happy

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli. It was super cute and definitely a mood-booster.

Most beautiful book you’ve bought or received

9780803741492_JaneUnlimited_BOM.inddI really the shininess of Jane, Unlimited by Kristin Cashore.

Books you need to read by the end of the year

Either A Daughter of Smoke and Bone or Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor, Our Dark DuetNevernight by Jay Kristoff, and my ARC of Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo. To name a few.

Anything you agree with here in my tag? Disagree with?

3 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag

  1. Elias!!! ❤ ❤ Yes!!! He's so dreamy I can't… I still haven't read book two but I'm hoping he stays that way throughout the trilogy.
    I really recommend Daughter of Smoke and Bone! I think you'll either love it or hate it, though, so keep that in mind 😉
    Great post, Megan 🙂 And don't worry about it being past mid-year. I'm just glad to finally be reading this ^^

    Like

Leave a Reply

