Nerdy Discussions

WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday is a weekly memewww hosted by Taking on a World of Words.

Happy Hump Day, everyone! I honestly can’t believe it’s only Wednesday. I’d like the weekend to get here ASAP, because I’m tired of working already. I just want to read and watch Sherlock and never leave my bed again. Is that too much to ask? Why do things have to cost money?

Anyway, I’m back with another WWW Wednesday this week, because I’m very excited about my current read and wanted a chance to gush about it!

The Three Ws

What are you currently reading?10015384-_sy540_

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda! I heard it was good before I started reading it, but I never imagined it would be THIS good! I don’t normally read romances/contemporaries, especially not about teenagers in high school, because I am old and cranky. But freakin’ a, guys. Simon is just too cute not to love. And it kind of makes me nostalgic for when I was young and trying to “find” myself. If I could go back in time, I would tell myself to not worry about what people think, and to be brave. And Simon is very brave. I think he would make a good friend.

What did you recently finish reading?51maszxex8l-_sx317_bo1204203200_

Persepolis
by Marjane Satrapi. It was an average read for me. I liked the graphic novel-style approach, and there were some very well-done panels that made me rethink a lot of things I took for granted growing up white in America. But I think the fact that it was about something as complex as Iran’s history over roughly a decade didn’t lend itself to a comic. Or maybe I’m just too ignorant and should have brushed up before reading it?

What do you think you’ll read next?

I’m not sure if the #DAReadAThon will still be going on when I’m done with Simon, but if it is, then something from my TBR, such as Difficult Women by Roxane Gay (which I still need to buy). If it’s not, then probably A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab. I’ve been putting off that book for waaaay too long, and I want to know what the hype is all about!

1 thought on “WWW Wednesday”

  1. A Darker Shade of Magic is great! I’ve been delaying reading the sequel and I’m getting antsy, I want to read it soon! Don’t forget to post your link on my post so others can see what you’re reading. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Like

Leave a comment