Nerdy Discussions

WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday is a weekly memewww hosted by Taking on a World of Words.

Happy Wednesday! There has been some crazy weather in the U.S., particularly in the north and east coast yesterday, so I hope everyone in the affected areas is surviving the week. And maybe getting a snow day or two out of it! Where I live in Chicago wasn’t hit with too much snow, but still enough to completely cover my car, which is always a burden because Chicago doesn’t believe in snow days.

Anywho, I’ve made some progress since my last WWW post, so I felt like an update would be fun!

The Three Ws

What are you currently reading?220px-DWCity

The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson. I’m reading this for my local book and brunch club, and I have mixed feelings about it. It’s nonfiction and discusses the conceptualization and building of Chicago’s World Fair in the 1800s, along with a creepy juxtaposition about the rising of H.H. Holmes, America’s first documented serial killer.

I’m learning a lot about Chicago’s past and all of the new things that were released during the World’s Fair, and how it was basically a playground for Holmes, who preyed on young girls visiting or living in Chicago for the first time. However, I find myself skimming a lot of the book, because the author is trying too hard to make nonfiction read like fiction. As a journalist, I commend his efforts and know he must have done a hell of a lot of research to accomplish this. But as a reader, I get bored reading too many of the (sometimes repetitive) details.


What did you recently finish reading?goodidea

A Good Idea by Cristina Moracho. I ended up enjoying this book more than I thought I would. I went into it thinking it was going to be a typical teen/high school drama, but the plot and overall vibe of the story definitely ended up changing my mind. You can read my review of it here, if you’d like. It’s also one of the most delightfully creepy covers I own now, which is always a plus!


What do you think you’ll read next?empress

Ummm, that is a good question. I’m having a hard time choosing between Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza or something that has been on my TBR for a while, like The Raven King or Glass Sword. After reading thrillers and nonfiction, I kind of want something that isn’t too heavy.

Any suggestions?

3 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday”

  1. Is Devil in the White City marketed as fiction or NF? That sounds like an exciting read, but too much repetition becomes stale. Hopefully smooths out soon. Happy reading.

    Like

    1. It’s nonfiction. I was hoping it would be exciting, and maybe it is for those who are really into history and engineering, but it’s falling a bit flat for me. I’m learning a lot, though! Thanks! (:

      Like

Leave a comment